Disabled Riders

• April 16, 2010 10:46 AM PDT
    I have been rinding for 20 years and last Aug I had an accident where I totaled my  04 FLHTCI and lost 20 inches off my left leg. I am now learning to walk with my "Training" leg, a wooden foot on a post and plan to have my difinitive leg by summers end. I would like to hear from any other disabled riders out there to find out how they did as I fully plan to get back on a iron horse next year. I could also use the encouragement. This will be a tough summer with no bike. Thanks
    • 1516 posts
    April 16, 2010 10:51 AM PDT
    Hats off to you Lionelg. I don't any great advise or wisdom on the subject, but commend you for not giving up! I hope everything goes really well for you!

I do have one story for you. We were standing at the bar in La Grange one day and a bike went by us. It was pretty cool. The guy had put a sidecar on his bike for his wife that was in a wheelchair. She was in the wheelchair in the sidecar on the bike.. It was an inspiration that where there is a will, there is definately a way!

Good luck to you!
    • 5420 posts
    April 16, 2010 10:52 AM PDT
    Can't offer any advice, but I REALLY like you attitude!!!
    • 601 posts
    April 16, 2010 11:01 AM PDT
    This is a UK and Irish group, it may offer some advice and encouragement...good luck man.
    http://www.nabd.org.uk/ />
  • April 16, 2010 11:03 AM PDT
    Thanks for the inspiration!!! I bet you'll be on your bike quicker than you think with your determination and will.
    • 2 posts
    April 16, 2010 11:06 AM PDT
    No real advice but might be a good excuse to buy a side car. - Personally I like the thought of taking the old-lady & the dog along.
    • 2072 posts
    April 16, 2010 11:13 AM PDT