So What Does Everyone Do?

• 223 posts
    August 22, 2010 11:50 AM PDT
    What does everyone here do for a living?  Are you retired?  Disabled?  Independantly wealthy?  

Kind of nice to know what kind of "network" we have around here, especially during meets and greets or runs.

I'm a nurse, my background is in psychiatry, corrections, addictions, and Hospice (I'm a former prison nurse) and I'm currently working in a rural emergency room/floor setting that I truly enjoy.  My first love is Hospice and that's a very long story.  I've also been a locksmith, bartender, stripper (screw that "exotic dancer" or "entertainer" stuff, there's a pole, a stage, you're taking you're clothes off, you're a stripper... easy as that, lol!), bar owner, and secretary for a lawyer.  Since our hospital only works us 3 days a week (we work we 12 1/2 hour shifts), I've been thinking of going back to Hospice part time or as needed.

My husband Ron, worked for Philips Lighting for 16 years until his fourth heat stroke July 14, 2009.  He's been disabled since, two stints in the ICU and nearly dying on us three times.  We still ride when we can, but he can't tolerate the heat very well anymore, so we are thankful when we have cool evenings so we can go out riding together.  Ron was a drug and alcohol counselor for adolescents for 11 years until they closed the place he worked at, then he worked with parolees for a couple of years until he got burned out.  At present, he's going to go back to school to finish his degree in social work so he can get back to working with kids.  We're fighting with Philips, as they claim it wasn't a work related incident, we even got the bill from the ambulance for the trip from work to the ER, lol!  Gotta love those mega-corporations!