Is it Rude to Turn Down Friend Requests

• 81 posts
    April 1, 2009 3:58 PM PDT

Hi All,

I'm kind of new to these type sites, but I am having a lot of fun here and I like this site.

So I have a question.  Is it considered rude to turn down a Friend Request from someone I don't know or have never even talked to on the site?

Why would you want to have people as friends here on the site if you don't know them, or have never talked to them?  Does it do something that I don't know about?

Again, I'm new and want to do the right thing here.

Thanks.

• 5417 posts
    April 1, 2009 4:24 PM PDT

Hi Kaki,

First of all we are glad to have you here and really glad you are enjoying the site.

There is absolutely nothing rude about turning down a friend request from someone you don't know, or even from someone you do know for that matter.  On sites like this everyone has their own unique approach to requesting and accepting friends, and there is absolutely nothing wrong with any of them.  That is of course unless they make "friends" just to send a bunch of unwanted communication.

Some people like to keep their friend list very small with just a few select people they either already know, or they have met here in the forums, or through messaging.  This makes it easy to quicky find your friends in your list when you want to communicate.  Also having a small controlled friend list will sometimes make you feel more comfortable about having photo albums, or other content which you have marked for friends viewing only (something to keep in mind).

Ohters like to have a large friends list with just about anyone who will accept their request, and they will accept a friend request from anyone.  These people can then set their notifications to know when their "friends" have recent activity on the site, to keep on top of everything going on, and they can also communitcate very easily with anyone.

Again, these are personal preferrences and there is nothig wrong with either choice.