Goldwing Trouble

• July 30, 2012 10:29 AM PDT
     I have a 2002 Goldwing.  4 times in the past 5 months, after having ridden and after the bike sat for several hours, it wouldn't start.  Would turn over fine, all electrical seemed to work, but just wouldn't fire.  Once I tried it 1/2 dozen times over 6 hours.  Then when I was showing it to my nephew I turned on the key, hit the starter, and it took right off.  Its done that 3 times since... fortuantely in my yard and I wasn't stranded.  Does anybody have an idea what's happening?   Thanks, Sam
    • 5420 posts
    July 30, 2012 10:59 AM PDT
    Not an expert on Goldwings but sounds like it could be a fuel pump issue. The pump may not be kicking on until you turn it on or off a few times. Possibly either the relay or the pump itself.

Just something you may want to check real quick.
  • July 30, 2012 3:49 PM PDT
    I'm not a bike mechanic, but I'm wondering if the electronic choke may be hanging up? Are those models fuel injected?
    • 19034 posts
    July 30, 2012 11:10 PM PDT
    This is the same symptoms my friend had on his Heritage. Although not the same bike, they most likely have similar systems on the Wing. His problem was an intermittent connection in the ignition module, that opened when hot. We found it using electronic cooling spray.
    • 1 posts
    July 31, 2012 5:19 AM PDT
    Rex, that could do it but he mentioned it sat for a while before it happened so I don't think its heat.

Fuel pump and relay would be something to check first since it is turning over but just not starting. Could also be a computer problem. Try disconnecting you battery for a few minutes and reconnecting to reset the bikes computer.
    • 0 posts
    July 31, 2012 6:42 AM PDT
    Start with the basics.
    Get it to NOT start and then
    check for spark at the plugs and check for fuel getting into the cylinders. One of the two is missing and you go in different directions depending on which one.