Little Help?

• May 17, 2011 8:25 AM PDT
    Hi Everyone, sorry long time no post, been busy with work n grandkids softball/baseball n such....

I'm in need of a little advice....My stepson whom is 32 years old has decided he wants a motorcycle, He has no riding experience whats so ever "NONE" well on atvs in the sand dunes.

Anyhows he says he will take a class which is all good but my problem is this....He wants me to test ride it "Crotch Rocket" However I don't want to because I have no experience on that type of bike...None at all...I've always ridden cruisers.

He feels i'm not being supportive but I think I would be placing myself in a bit of n unsafe situation?...I'm a very experienced rider since I've been in the saddle for over 42years n I do have police motorcycle training including high speed lay down training....

I just don't think it's a good idea...I'm thinking he should take the class then go test ride himself...Any suggestions?  I'm open minded on this.

Thanks cf Family
    RandyJoe...Ride Strong...
    • 638 posts
    May 17, 2011 8:52 AM PDT
    crotch rockets are a completely different animal. Having ridden both, I'd say sick with your cruiser and stay away from the other. Just my 2 cents...but I hate wheelies though
  • May 17, 2011 9:07 AM PDT
    Ive ridden both-- personally - and just my cents- you would have no issues test riding a crotch rocket- other than being fairly uncomfortable- they ride and handle extremely well- my thought is that a crotch rocket- even a 600 - will be a whole lot a bike for someone that has never ridden on the street and in traffic- i would encourage him to start off with a cruiser and if he still wants to go balls to wall later- he can always get one after he has a bit of experience under his belt-
    thats my 2 cents- and for the record- i have no animosity at all for those who choose to ride sport bikes- as long as it has 2 wheels- im down!
    respects
    dave
    • 2 posts
    May 17, 2011 9:30 AM PDT