WHAT DID YOU DO ABOUT HEAT ON TWIN CAM 96 EFI ENGINES

• 1509 posts
    December 22, 2009 1:46 PM PST

I AM NEW TO EFI AND THE TWIN CAMS. I HAVE BEEN READING ABOUT ENGINE MODS AND EXHAUST CHANGES AIR INTAKE CHANGES AND O2 SENSORS CANGED OR ELECTRONIC ADDITIONS (EXAMPLE POWER COMANDER OR NIGHT RIDER PERFORMANCE UPDATES) WHAT ARE SOME OF THE CHANGES YOU GUYS AN GALS HAVE MADE TO REDUCE HEAT, INCREASE PERFORMANCE (NOT INTERESTED IN RACING) AN MAKE THE BIKE A LITTLE LOUDER.

BEEN RIDING A SHOVEL WITH DRAGS FOR LONG TIME. NEED MORE RUMBLE PLEASE.

ALL SUGGESTIONS WELCOME

THANK YOU

• 1 posts
    December 23, 2009 5:07 AM PST
    Not sure exactly what you mean by running cooler - what temp is your bike running now.  Just remember the big v-twins were designed as air-cooled engines.  They run hot and run well that way.

You may want to check out this post...
    Harley-Davidson V-Twin Oil Temperature
    • 1509 posts
    December 23, 2009 5:14 AM PST
    I'M TALKING ABOUT EXHAUST TEMPS AND REAR CYL TEMPS I DO NOT LIKE ROASTED NUTS HA HA!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    • 1 posts
    December 23, 2009 6:02 AM PST
    Sorry, misunderstood. Haven't heard too much about what you can do about the outside temp...and I know it can get real hot, especially sitting at a red light. Kind of the nature of the beast with it being air cooled...the heat needs to go somewhere.

As for the sound, there are just so many choices out there, I've got V&H exhaust on mine and like the way it sounds. Probably just need to hear a bike you like and see what they are running.
  • January 8, 2010 4:13 AM PST