wanna-be rider! need some HELP

• June 4, 2011 3:22 AM PDT
    Greetings bikers,

My name is Pat and I'm a wanna-be-biker-poor-college student. I've always wanted to be a biker and now that i am of age and have the capable funds I'm ready to get my FIRST BIKE!

I have some "newbie" questions that i would sincerly appreciate some accurate advice and recomendations.

-My first problem is the fact that i do not know anything about motorcycles!

-My second problem is the MONEY! i have to buy a used bike and i do not know what to look for when i am looking at it and testing it out.
    I know what i want though......i want a crotch rocket that i can fit a girl on the back comfortably. I also want it to be safe, reliable, comfortable,and generally a bike i can show off with (speed, "fast looking",etc.). I've been told that when you get your first bike you have to get a beginners bike,but i have a problem with this. I'm a quick learner and i do not want to buy a beginners bike, have it for a year, and then go and have to sell and buy a new bike for when i get better.  i'm sure i'm not the first person that doesnt want to learn on a beginners bike.

I'm guessing it is like picking out a car......
    -brand name
    -mileage
    -motor problems
    -price
    -reliablility
    -size (not like a car)
    -gas mileage
    -what should i feel for when test riding...
    -those obvious factors that are automatic no-no's (like when you see nice truck you wanna buy and it rides really nice but right before you bbuy it the tell you they "INSTALLED A BRAND NEW ENGINE or IT WAS IN AN ACCIDENT ONCE")

any recomendations and advice would be greatly appreciated. I really want to be a biker, but i have nobody to give me advice and help on the matter.

Thank you so much,

-Pat
  • June 4, 2011 4:31 AM PDT