Performance upgrade question

• October 3, 2014 4:36 AM PDT
    I bought my 06 Honda Shadow Aero a few months ago from a private seller who had already added Cobra pipes on the bike. I am wanting to upgrade my air intake and was looking at the Cobra power flo, will i need to do anything to the fuel management by adding this upgrade? Should there be any upgrades with just the aftermarket pipes? Any help is appreciated
    • 3006 posts
    October 3, 2014 5:04 AM PDT
    Typically people rejet the carb when doing pipes and air mods.On my 98 ACE 750 I changed the pipes to Vance & Hines & never did any other mod.I did adjust the carb idle settings thats about it.Other then the occasional backfire never had any problems with her.One very dependable ride.
  • October 3, 2014 5:38 AM PDT
    I'm not sure if the previous owner did anything to the carb or not, i'm not a mechanic and don't know much about those things but the bike runs great in my opinion i would just like to get rid of that monster air box. thank you for the info
    • 5420 posts
    October 3, 2014 5:52 AM PDT
    I would personally go ahead and change the intake and if the bike runs & performs well, don't worry about it. If you get backfiring and/or reduced performance take it to a good mechanic and have the carb re-jetted and tuned for the setup.

• 207 posts
    October 3, 2014 5:53 AM PDT
    My wife had a '07 Shadow ACE 750. I put VH pipes on for her. VH recomended a main jet of 20. The stock carb already had a 20 main jet and all I had to do was set the needle to their specs. I want to say I ran the needle all the way in and backed it out 3 1/2 turns but I'm not positive on that.

If you put a higher-flow intake you'll definitely want to get more fuel flowing through the carb to mix with the extra air.
  • October 3, 2014 5:57 AM PDT
    Thanks, the previous owner took good care of the bike so i'm thinking he might have had the carb worked on when he added the pipes.
    • 207 posts