Vietnam Vets / Iraq and Afghan Vets

• March 8, 2011 2:45 AM PST
    A recent post by RexTheRoadDog got me to thinking about one I had seen, so I had to go out and find it. This really hits home and I feel it addresses the differences between when the Nam vets came home and the current vets.

My god, were we all really that young????   I know I was. Got orders on my 18th birthday in Nov of 69 and I was in-country in Dec of 69.

The Eagle Cried  www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ehbc1zU1BwQ />
    Best watched full screen
  • March 8, 2011 6:47 AM PST
    I am a Viet Nam vet. Got my notice for the draft in Jan of 68 and left for Nam in mar of 69. An experience that I will never forget.
    When I got in country they gave me a rifle and 3 rounds. They told me that if we got ambused use two on the enemy and the last on yourself. Siad we did not want to be a POW.
  • March 8, 2011 6:49 AM PST
    Bless you both. Thank you for your service.
    • 114 posts
    March 8, 2011 8:41 AM PST
    What she said.... I am seriously grateful for all the young soldiers who "grew up" after being shipping to 'Nam. Thank you for what you did and didn't do.... God bless you everyone!
    • 9 posts
    March 8, 2011 2:02 PM PST
    I will always be grateful for what you did for us. I will always be ashamed of what you were put through, when you came home. I was 10 yrs. old in '69, but I remember it like it was yesterday. I have two older sister's, who both had friends that I was fond of, who served and were fortunate enough to make it home. And I was sickened at the way all of the vets were treated. And I get just as sick now, when I see the moron's who protest at fallen soldiers funerals. I don't know what motivates any human being to act that way towards their fellow man, especially the one's who are out there, defending their constitutional rights in the first place.
    Ride Free-because freedom ain't free
    Tweek
  • March 8, 2011 11:35 PM PST
    Great Post Tweek