First Bike

• April 23, 2014 3:05 PM PDT
     I am new to motorcycles and just got my first bike. It's a bit ambitious for a first bike but I fell deep in love and it just felt right. It's a Suzuki LS650 Savage with a bobber kit. I was hoping for some advice as far as starting out or wether I should buy another bike on the side to learn on first. Also hoping there might be some cruiser riders out there in Montgomery Al that could show me the ropes in person and be an active riding partner. I'm also open to hearing "shut up", "go away" or anything else  cuz I'm not to sure how this site works yet. Thanks for any help. 

-TreadThread

• 16795 posts
    April 23, 2014 3:39 PM PDT
    First put a rear fender on it (trust me on that), second find a large area to practice, a school parking lot on the weekend is a good place. Stay off main roads until you feel ready. Have fun.
    • 284 posts
    April 23, 2014 8:18 PM PDT
    Congrats on your first bike.  I remember mine a 57 Panhead.  Nothin cooler than the breeze.

I agree, get a rear fender.

Second take the, most state DMV offer a Motorcycle Rider Course, So do many of the Bike shops.  Harley of Savannah has one it is a few days long and they teach you the basics.

DMV here after you take the course you do not have to take the Motorcycle Licence test you just hand them your Course completion paper and they give you your Motorcycle endorsement.

I agree with the parking lot to learn in.  On Sunday mornings early I like to go to our Mall it has a great outter road that runs all the way around the mall and early Sunday I can ride it without stopping and take advantage of being able to weave in and out of the parking area getting use to quick turns.

Remember to keep twice the distance behind a vehicle in traffic, way more than you would in your cage vehicle.  Pratice stopping at different speeds to see exactly how far a controlled stop is, not a lock up skid.