I have tried every trick I can find for the security system

• March 11, 2014 1:53 PM PDT
    I have a 2006 Electra Glide, the battery died this winter completely and now the security system has tripped. The hazards flash and the security key flashes on the dash.

The Key Fob wont work, but honestly I have never used it before so I have no way of knowing if it is functional.

I contacted the previous owner and he stated that he never switched the security code from the dealer. So i then contacted the dealer and they stated that they use 1-1-1-1-1 on all their bikes. When I tried that to enter the code I cant get the odometer to go blank to enter in the code manualy, and when the key flashes "quickly" as described in the manual, I enter the code but the system wont recognize that either.

I tried to discover the security code manually but without the key fob working the proper sequence isn't possible according to the manual.

Is there any other options to try???? I really don't want to replace the ECM for 500 dollars. 
    • 5420 posts
    March 11, 2014 5:13 PM PDT
    Cincy, Sounds like you are going to have to take it in. The dealer can reset the security system and re-marry your FOB to the bike.

I am not sure why the dealer told you the code is 111111, There is NO code on a factory bike... just plain not set to ANY code. And the dealer would be insane to set ALL the bikes they sell to 111111 and then tell you that over the phone. Since less then half the people actually set their own code, especially right off the bat, anyone could steal any bike that dealer sold.
    • 2685 posts
    March 12, 2014 12:04 AM PDT
    Cincy,

Don't know if this will help but my son was having a problem with his as well, in the end found out it was just a dead battery in the fob and that fixed his issue but because of the dead batter in the fob it kept tripping the alarm as well.