1990 tour glide classic charging problems ???

• April 17, 2012 4:15 PM PDT
    hello Im new to this but here goes .. I have a 1990 tour glide classic that im having trouble with my battery going dead..put the volt metter on battery and while running get same reading instaed of it going up to 14 volts or better so that tells me that it's either the volt reg. or the altenator stator i pull the pug out of the casing from the regulator and testted the stator and got 30+ volts when bike was reved..from other forums that told me change the volt reg.. my question is ...is there a way to check the voltage reg before i invest in buying a new one or could it be another problem...turn signals mostly seam afected by the battery voltage going low is this normal ???thanks in advance for any help ...murph
    • 5420 posts
    April 18, 2012 2:27 AM PDT
    Found this on J&P Cycles Tech Section...
    (http://community.jpcycles.com/articles/tech-articles/pages/testing-harley-davidson-charging-systems.aspx)

Regulator Test: Each of the following tests isolates the regulator only, so if any of these tests fail, the regulator is at fault.

Identifying Wires:

Battery Charge Lead- Wire going from regulator to battery positive.
        AC output leads- Wires coming from the Stator to regulator.
        Ground- Wire from Regulator to ground or regulator may be grounded via the physical bolting to chassis.

Regulator Ground Test: Insure the regulator body is grounded or grounding wire is fastened tight to a good ground (you should verify this by checking continuity from regulator body to chassis ground).

Fwd/Reverse Bias Test/Diode Test: This check is testing the Diode function to ensure it is regulating the AC current for the stator into DC Current.
    1.     Switch multi meter to Diode Scale.
    2.     Place your Multi meter positive lead on each AC output wire.
    3.     Place your multi meter negative lead on the battery Charge wire.