Jetting?

• April 10, 2012 2:36 AM PDT
    Ok, I'm not a very mechanical person but I'm determined to learn. I've decided to replace my exhaust with an aftermarket one. I've read in the reviews that people have mentioned needing to jet them. Can someone explain this to me? How hard is this? Are there any special tools required? etc.....
  • April 10, 2012 3:57 AM PDT

Ummm, If you can understand the rantings of a "Fog Breathing Limey Brit B'Stard"  I shall try to give you the briefest details ok?

Ok, the "Jetting" you refer to is actually to do with the fuel system-not the pipes...lol...by changing the pipes you are creating a different back pressure from the engine through the exhaust pipes ok?  What "Jetting" does is to change the idle and main jets in the carburettors to balance the flow and back pressure to aid the smooth running of your engine...It may run ok with aftermarket pipes if they are directly made for your make and model, but most are general pipes and it is best to re-jet the carburettors...If you are used to working on carburettors then its no big deal - but, if you are not confident with carburettors then get a pro to do it ok?  Make sure its someone who understands your msake and model and the principals of the correct back pressure etc...hope this helps mate...

• April 10, 2012 4:37 AM PDT
    It does help. Thank you
  • April 10, 2012 5:55 AM PDT
    No problem mate.
    • 3006 posts
    April 10, 2012 6:42 AM PDT
    Just my 02 worth
    Rejetting isnt always necessary for the Honda's,depending on the style of pipes your purchasing,like Jet said changing out the pipes,it changes the back pressure to the exhaust system.On the Honda there is an air fuel mixture screw,which when adjusted properly can eliminate the need for re-jetting with certain styles of pipes that are designed for use with your bike.