Washington Motorcycle Laws - View All States Motorcycle Laws
We have put together a simple list of the primary Washington state motorcycle laws to help you when traveling through Washington on a motorcycle. These Washington motorcycle laws where confirmed accurate as of the time of publishing and are provided to you as a reference only. For Washington's complete motorcycle laws, please visit the Washington state Motor Vehicle website.

Safety Helmet: Required by law
Eye Protection: Required by law unless equipped with windscreen
Passenger Age: Prohibits passenger under age 5
Helmet Speakers: No Restrictions
Mirrors: Two required by law
Headlight: Daytime headlight required. Modulating headlight permitted.
Turn Signals: Required if originally equipped.
Handlebars: Maximum of 30" above seat
Muffler: Muffler required.
Noise Restrictions: Max A-weighted sound level as measured at 50 feet (WAC 173-62-030): 1)78dBA at 45mph or less; 2)82dBA over 45mph. Stationary 20 inch standard: Models before 1986--99dBA.
Riding Two Abreast in Lane: Motorcycles shall not be operated more than two abreast in a single lane.
Lane Splitting: he operator of a motorcycle shall not overtake and pass in the same lane occupied by the vehicle being overtaken. (3) No person shall operate a motorcycle between lanes of traffic or between adjacent lines or rows of vehicles.
Insurance: None required per RCW 46.30.020.

These state motorcycle laws very verified as current at the time they were published on this page. Some laws may have been changed or repealed and new laws may have be added. Check with state and/or local authorities for the most up to date laws and regulations.