Utah Motorcycle Laws - View All States Motorcycle Laws
We have put together a simple list of the primary Utah state motorcycle laws to help you when traveling through Utah on a motorcycle. These Utah motorcycle laws where confirmed accurate as of the time of publishing and are provided to you as a reference only. For Utah's complete motorcycle laws, please visit the Utah state Motor Vehicle website.

Safety Helmet: Required by law under age 21
Eye Protection: Not Required
Passenger Age: No Restriction
Helmet Speakers: No Restrictions
Mirrors: One required by law
Headlight: Modulating headlight permitted
Turn Signals: Not Required
Handlebars: Handgrips below shoulder height - Maximum of 15" above seat - Required by inspection regulations
Muffler: No acoustical criteria.
Noise Restrictions: No acoustical criteria.
Riding Two Abreast in Lane: Motorcycles, motor-driven cycles, or all-terrain type I vehicles -- Operation on public highways. Motorcycles or motor-driven cycles may not be operated more than two abreast in a single lane
Lane Splitting: The speed limit on the road has to be 45 miles per hour or less and has to have at least two lanes of traffic traveling in the same direction. You can’t ride faster than 15 miles per hour while lane filtering, and you must be moving around traffic that’s stopped. You also have to stay between marked lanes, not on a shoulder or in a bike lane.
Insurance: Compulsory Liability (Minimum Limits)(25/65/15 or $65,000 single limit)

These state motorcycle laws very verified as current at the time they were published on this page. Some laws may have been changed or repealed and new laws may have be added. Check with state and/or local authorities for the most up to date laws and regulations.