Rhode Island Motorcycle Laws - View All States Motorcycle Laws
We have put together a simple list of the primary Rhode Island state motorcycle laws to help you when traveling through Rhode Island on a motorcycle. These Rhode Island motorcycle laws where confirmed accurate as of the time of publishing and are provided to you as a reference only. For Rhode Island's complete motorcycle laws, please visit the Rhode Island state Motor Vehicle website.

Safety Helmet: Required by law under age 21 and novice riders, required for passengers
Eye Protection: Required by law
Passenger Age: No Restriction
Helmet Speakers: Prohibited to use or possess
Mirrors: One required by law
Headlight: No Restriction
Turn Signals: Not Required
Handlebars: Maximum of 15" above seat
Muffler: Muffler required.
Noise Restrictions: Max A-weighted sound level as measured at 50 feet (Title 31, Chapter 45 31-45-1): 1)86dBA at 35 mph or less; 2)90dBA above 35 mph.
Riding Two Abreast in Lane: Driving Motorcycles on Roadways Laned for Traffic. – I. All motorcycles are entitled to the full use of a lane and no motor vehicle shall be driven in such a manner as to deprive any motorcycle of the full use of a lane; provided, however, that 2 motorcycles may ride abreast in a single lane.
Lane Splitting: The driver of a motorcycle shall not overtake and pass in the same lane occupied by the vehicle being overtaken. III. No person shall drive a motorcycle on a roadway between lanes of traffic or between adjacent lines or rows of vehicles
Insurance: Compulsory Liability (Minimum Limits)(25/50/25 or $75,000 single limit)

These state motorcycle laws very verified as current at the time they were published on this page. Some laws may have been changed or repealed and new laws may have be added. Check with state and/or local authorities for the most up to date laws and regulations.