Ohio Motorcycle Laws - View All States Motorcycle Laws
We have put together a simple list of the primary Ohio state motorcycle laws to help you when traveling through Ohio on a motorcycle. These Ohio motorcycle laws where confirmed accurate as of the time of publishing and are provided to you as a reference only. For Ohio's complete motorcycle laws, please visit the Ohio state Motor Vehicle website.

Safety Helmet: Required by law for novice riders, required under age 18
Eye Protection: Required by law unless equipped with windscreen
Passenger Age: No Restriction
Helmet Speakers: No Restrictions
Mirrors: One required by law
Headlight: Modulating headlight permitted
Turn Signals: Required if manufactured in 1968 and after
Handlebars: Maximum of 15" above seat
Muffler: Muffler required.
Noise Restrictions: Counties and Townships may adopt regulations that establish Max A-weighted sound level based on measurement at a distance not less than 50 feet from center line of travel (Title 45, 4513.221): 1)82dBA at 35 mph or less; 2)86dBA at more than 35 mph.
Riding Two Abreast in Lane: Persons riding bicycles or motorcycles upon a roadway shall ride not more than two abreast in a single lane, except on paths or parts of roadways set aside for the exclusive use of bicycles or motorcycles.
Lane Splitting: Not referenced in Administrative Code or Statutes
Insurance: Compulsory Liability

These state motorcycle laws very verified as current at the time they were published on this page. Some laws may have been changed or repealed and new laws may have be added. Check with state and/or local authorities for the most up to date laws and regulations.