Michigan Motorcycle Laws - View All States Motorcycle Laws
We have put together a simple list of the primary Michigan state motorcycle laws to help you when traveling through Michigan on a motorcycle. These Michigan motorcycle laws where confirmed accurate as of the time of publishing and are provided to you as a reference only. For Michigan's complete motorcycle laws, please visit the Michigan state Motor Vehicle website.

Safety Helmet: Helmet not required for riders 21 years of age and have a motorcycle endorsement for at least 2 years, plus a minimum $20,000 worth of medical coverage per rider on your medical insurance.
Eye Protection: Required by law unless equipped with windscreen, required at speeds over 35 mph
Passenger Age: No Restriction
Helmet Speakers: No Restrictions
Mirrors: One required by law
Headlight: Modulating headlight permitted
Turn Signals: Not Required
Handlebars: Maximum of 15" above seat
Muffler: Muffler required.
Noise Restrictions: Maximum allowable A-weighed sound levels as measured from 50 feet (Sec. 257.707c): 86dBA at speed over 35mph; 82dBA at speed less than 35mph; 95dBA under stationary run-up test at 75 inches.
Riding Two Abreast in Lane: A person operating a bicycle, electric personal assistive mobility device, low-speed vehicle, or moped upon a roadway shall ride as near to the right side of the roadway as practicable, exercising due care when passing a standing vehicle or one proceeding in the same direction. A motorcycle is entitled to full use of a lane and a motor vehicle shall not be driven in such a manner as to deprive a motorcycle of the full use of a lane. This subsection shall not apply to motorcycles operated 2 abreast in a single lane.
Lane Splitting: A person operating a motorcycle, moped, low-speed vehicle, electric personal assistive mobility device, or bicycle shall not pass between lines of traffic, but may pass on the left of traffic moving in his or her direction in the case of a 2-way street, or on the left or right of traffic in the case of a 1-way street, in an unoccupied lane."
Insurance: Compulsory Liability (Minimum Limits)(20/40/10)

These state motorcycle laws very verified as current at the time they were published on this page. Some laws may have been changed or repealed and new laws may have be added. Check with state and/or local authorities for the most up to date laws and regulations.