California Motorcycle Laws - View All States Motorcycle Laws
We have put together a simple list of the primary California state motorcycle laws to help you when traveling through California on a motorcycle. These California motorcycle laws where confirmed accurate as of the time of publishing and are provided to you as a reference only. For California's complete motorcycle laws, please visit the California state Motor Vehicle website.

Safety Helmet: Required by law
Eye Protection: Required unless motorcycle is equipped with windscreen
Passenger Age: No Restrictions
Helmet Speakers: Single earphone only
Mirrors: One required by law
Headlight: Daytime headlight required by law. Modulating headlight permitted.
Turn Signals: Required by law
Handlebars: A person shall not drive a two-wheel motorcycle that is equipped with handlebars so positioned that the hands of the driver, when upon the grips, are more than six inches above his or her shoulder height when sitting astride the seat.
Muffler: Muffler required. No muffler or exhaust system shall be equipped with a cutout, bypass or similar device (27150. Adequate Muffler Required).
Noise Restrictions: Maximum allowable A-weighted sound levels based on measurements taken at a distance of 50 ft from center lane of travel:1)Pre-1970..92dba; 2) After 1969, and before 1973...88dba; 3) After 1972, and before 1975...86dba; 4) After 1974, and before 1986...83dba; 5) After 1985...80dba (27201-27202. Motorcycle Limits).
Riding Two Abreast in Lane: Not referenced in Administrative Code or Statutes
Lane Splitting: California is the only state where lane splitting is completely legal. Experts in this state do recommend that motorcyclists only go ten miles per hour above the speed of the surrounding traffic and that they avoid lane splitting over speeds of 30 miles per hour. You also can’t lane split near freeway exits or ramps.
Insurance: Compulsory Liability (Minimum Limits)(15/30/5) - Financial responsibility required. A driver involved in an accident who fails to prove existence of financial responsibility at time of accident shall have driver's license suspended for 1 year.

These state motorcycle laws very verified as current at the time they were published on this page. Some laws may have been changed or repealed and new laws may have be added. Check with state and/or local authorities for the most up to date laws and regulations.