Arizona Motorcycle Laws - View All States Motorcycle Laws
We have put together a simple list of the primary Arizona state motorcycle laws to help you when traveling through Arizona on a motorcycle. These Arizona motorcycle laws where confirmed accurate as of the time of publishing and are provided to you as a reference only. For Arizona's complete motorcycle laws, please visit the Arizona state Motor Vehicle website.

Safety Helmet: Required by law under age 18
Eye Protection: Required by law unless equipped with windscreen
Passenger Age: No Restrictions
Helmet Speakers: No Restrictions
Mirrors: One required by law
Headlight: Modulating headlight permitted
Turn Signals: Required by law
Handlebars: Handlebars such that the hands of the operator are not above the operator's shoulder height when the operator is sitting astride the seat and the operator's hands are on the handlebar grips.
Muffler: Muffler required; no cutout, bypass or similar device (28-955.01, Motorcycles; noise level equipment; unauthorized equipment).
Noise Restrictions: Maximum allowable A-weighted sound levels based on measurements taken at a distance of 50 ft from center lane of travel (R17-4-61. Motorcycle Noise Limits): Model Year/<=35mph/35-45mph/>45mph: Before 1972/84dba/88dba/88dba; 1972-1980/79dba/82dba/86dba; After 1980/76dba/80dba/83dba
Riding Two Abreast in Lane: Driving motorcycles and motor-driven cycles on roadways laned for traffic (a) Motorcycles and motor-driven cycles may be driven upon a lane of a roadway, and no motor vehicle may be driven so as to deprive a motorcycle or motor-driven cycle of the full use of a lane. This provision does not apply to motorcycles or motor-driven cycles driven two abreast in a single lane by consent of both drivers; however, no motorcycles or motor-driven cycles may be driven more than two abreast in a single lane.
Lane Splitting: Lane filtering is technically legal in Arizona as of 2022, but only under certain conditions. You can only ride between lanes of traffic stopped at a light. The speed limit of the road has to be less than 45 miles per hour. You can’t ride faster than 15 miles per hour. The street has to have at least two lanes of traffic traveling in the same direction. You have to be passing a car stopped in the same lane. You have to ride in the middle of the lanes, not on the median or shoulder.
Insurance: Compulsory Liability (Minimum Limits)(15/30/10)

These state motorcycle laws very verified as current at the time they were published on this page. Some laws may have been changed or repealed and new laws may have be added. Check with state and/or local authorities for the most up to date laws and regulations.