Riding with a group

• December 2, 2009 6:16 PM PST
    Riding with a group

Ok,...this subject is a "in general subject"  for all to post on riding with a group of riders.

But I started this post because of a question I have.

In Oct of this year 2009....I successflully raised money for a child with cancer by holding a first poker run.

I do not ride for a MC club or organization
    I am new to all this

As we left registartion at Leather Headquarters.....( I and my 8 volunteers that rode bikes ) went to check stop 1 ....I noticed a MC Club physically stood out in traffic and stopped traffic to let us go on our journey.

They did not do that for other bikers leaving the registration point.

Then later at another stop.......( where a poker card was to be drawn ) we were leaving that stop to continue to the 3rd stop to see how things were going with our volunteers ( plus we wanted to ride the poker run route )

Well many of the bikers I have never met ...I got to talk wiith over the course of the day and the stops......But  when leaving this stop there were a group of bikers ( a MC Club ...patched ) talking to each other about needing fuel..

Being that it was my Poker run for a child and I wanted everyone to enjoy the ride...I informed the club of the gas station not even 2 blocks away.....then onto the next stop.

Well they all rode off.........I and my 8 helpers rode off keeping a bit of a distance from them......( they were a MC club....we were individual riders ) ( giving them respect )

I was leading our "individual riders " but behind the MC Club.

The Mc club had one single rider that would speed up to each light or stop sign and stop ALL TRAFFIC for the riders to continue on without stopping .....( he had a fast HD  it seemed ) 

Well he waited for us at the first stop and motioned for us to COME ON .

We did........ ( was thinking ...how cool )

I thought it was just a jesture to ....get away from the ...ummm bar.....