Insurance tip

• January 25, 2013 4:29 AM PST
    Hey everybody, I just thought about something that might be helpful that most people don't know. I work in insurance, and the way most companies do their motorcycle policies is that there's a minimum amount that they can charge for the year. So like, with Allstate (where I used to work), the lowest amount a policy can cost for the year is $75 (and I believe $60 in West Virginia. There's one state, but I forget which one), so like, if you call and get a quote for just liability and they tell you it's $75 ($60 for Geico, if I'm not mistaken), you can add coverages to it and since you're under the minimum, it'll still be $75.

I only really bring it up because working in a call center, I know a lot of the other agents didn't usually point it out to people, and if you're gonna be paying the same either way, you might as well get as much coverage as possible, right? I know for most bikes older than 2003 (unless it's a Harley or a GSXR/hayabusa/whatever), the liability part only ends up costing $30-$40, so you can usually add comprehensive, which will cover your bike if it gets stolen, a tree falls on it, you hit a deer, anything that's out of your control, and it's still under the $75 cap. I've had calls before where people have just wanted liability but I was able to add on collision, comprehensive, and medical and it was still the same price. So the best thing I would say would just be to always ask if they give you a rounded off dollar figure, what the price would be if you added comprehensive or something and you might be able to get more for your money.
  • January 25, 2013 5:35 AM PST
    I have found through painful experience that Motorcycle insurance is for the most part worthless.