Motorcycle Riders Foundation news

  • This week, thousands of American bikers contacted their elected officials to express concern about recent crashes involving motorcycles and cars believed to be in self-driving mode. Specifically, three crashes this summer, which occurred in California, Florida and Utah have been a major topic of conversation for the nearly 10 million motorcyclists in this country.

    In response to outreach by constituents, Representative Tim Walberg of Michigan and 26 other members of Congress sent a bipartisan letter to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) seeking answers. The letter, delivered to Acting Administrator Ann Carlson, asked five basic questions regarding self-driving technology and motorcycles.

    It is the hope of the Motorcycle Riders Foundation (MRF), our members and partners that answers to questions like, “Should motorcyclists take extra precautions when sharing the road with vehicles with self-driving technology?” will shed light on the capabilities of this new technology.

    Click here to read the official letter.

    American motorcyclists owe the following 27 Representatives, from 16 different states, our thanks. Their desire to seek answers and protect all roadway users makes all of us safer. Thank you for your leadership on this issue!

    • Rep. Troy Balderson – Ohio
    • Rep. Jack Bergman – Michigan
    • Rep. Mike Bost – Illinois
    • Rep. Cheri Busto – Illinois
    • Rep. Angie Craig – Minnesota
    • Rep. Rodney Davis – Illinois
    • Rep. Val Demings – Florida
    • Rep. Scott Fitzgerald – Wisconsin
    • Rep. Lois Frankel – Florida
    • Rep. Paul Gosar – Arizona
    • Rep Glenn Grothman – Wisconsin
    • Rep. Andy Harris – Maryland
    • Rep. Clay Higgins – Louisiana
    • Rep. Dusty Johnson – South Dakota
    • Rep. Ron Kind – Wisconsin
    • Rep. Ann Kuster – New Hampshire
    • Rep. Darin LaHood – Illinois
    • Rep. Doug Lamborn – Colorado
    • Rep. Brian Mast – Florida
    • Rep. Lisa McClain – Michigan
    • Rep. Mark Pocan – Wisconsin
    • Rep. Bill Posey – Florida
    • Rep. Pete Stauber – Minnesota
    • Rep. Glenn Thompson – Pennsylvania
    • Rep. Dina Titus – Nevada
    • Rep Tim Walberg – Michigan
    • Rep. Robert Wittman – Virginia