Blogs » Motorcycle News » New House & Senate Members and Committees

New House & Senate Members and Committees

  • New Members and Committees

    With the election of nearly 70 new lawmakers in the Senate and the House, congressional committee membership is directly impacted. Not only are freshman members assigned to new committees, but current members can also jump to new committees. While numerous committees can impact our work in Washington a few specific ones are always at the forefront.

    Below is a list of lawmakers that will be added to these important committees. They will join other elected officials who have previously served on the committees.

    Take a look and see if your Representative or Senator is a new member of these committees.

    House Energy and Commerce Committee – Jurisdiction over issues including autonomous vehicles and ethanol.   New Committee Members:

    • Rep. Kelly Armstrong (R-ND)
    • Rep. Angie Craig (D-MN)
    • Rep. Dan Crenshaw (R-TX)
    • Rep. John Curtis (R-UT)
    • Rep. Neal Dunn (R-FL)
    • Rep. Lizzie Fletcher (D-TX)
    • Rep. John Joyce (R-PA)
    • Rep. Debbie Lesko (R-AZ)
    • Rep. Gary Palmer (R-AL)
    • Rep. Greg Pence (R-IN)
    • Rep. Kathleen Rice (D-NY)
    • Rep. Kim Schrier (D-WA)
    • Rep. Lori Trahan (D-MA)

    House Judiciary Committee – Jurisdiction over motorcyclist profiling resolution and potential police reform legislation. New Committee Members:

    • Rep. Cliff Bentz (OR)
    • Rep. Dan Bishop (NC)
    • Rep. Cori Bush (D-MO)
    • Rep. Michelle Fischbach (MN)
    • Rep. Scott Fitzgerald (WI)
    • Rep. Darrell Issa (CA)
    • Rep. Mondaire Jones (D-NY)
    • Rep. Thomas Massie (KY)
    • Rep. Burgess Owens (UT)
    • Rep. Deborah Ross (D-NC)
    • Rep. Chip Roy (TX)
    • Rep. Victoria Spartz (IN)

    House Transportation & Infrastructure Committee – Jurisdiction over the 2021 highway bill. New Committee Members:

    • Rep. Jake Auchincloss (D-MA)
    • Rep. Carolyn Bourdeaux (D-GA)
    • Rep. Carlos Gimenez (R-FL)
    • Rep. Troy Nehls (R-TX)
    • Rep. Conor Lamb (D-PA)
    • Rep. Kaiali’l Kahele (D-HI)
    • Rep. Nancy Mace (R-SC)
    • Rep. Nicole Malliotakis (R-NY)
    • Rep. Seth Moulton (D-MA)
    • Rep. Marie Newman (D-IL)
    • Rep. Michelle Steel (R-CA)
    • Rep. Marilyn Strickland (D-WA)
    • Rep. Beth Van Duyne (R-TX)
    • Rep. Nikema Williams (D-GA)

    Senate Commerce, Science & Transportation Committee – Joint jurisdiction over the 2021 Highway bill and jurisdiction over autonomous vehicles. New Committee Members:

    • Sen. John Hickenlooper (D- CO)
    • Sen. Ben Ray Lujan, (D-NM)
    • Sen. Cynthia Lummis, (R-WY)
    • Sen. Raphael Warnock (D-GA)

    Senate Environment and Public Works – Joint jurisdiction over the 2021 highway bill and jurisdiction over ethanol issues. New Committee Members:

    • Mark Kelly (D-AZ)
    • Alex Padilla (D-CA)

    Senate Judiciary Committee – Jurisdiction over potential police reform legislation. New Committee Members:

    • Alex Padilla (D-CA)
    • Jon Ossoff (D-GA)
    • All Information contained in this release is copyrighted. Reproduction permitted with attribution. Motorcycle Riders Foundation. All rights reserved.


1 comment