Girl Riders - Like the Attention or Not

• February 25, 2009 6:35 AM PST

I started riding about 3 years ago and love it.  One thing I notice, and I'm sure many of you do also, is that when I ride alone, I get lots of attention from guys.  If they are next to me in a car or standing around when I am parking, they seem to want to stare, wink, make googly eyes, or something.

Now I am not ugly or anything, just kind of average looking with and average body but I don't get this attention anytime except when I'm on the bike.  and you know I actually kind of enjiy it.  Usually give a wink back or even blow them a kiss every now and then .

Do any of you other lady riders get the same thing?

And do you like it?

• 2 posts
    February 26, 2009 3:17 AM PST

I noticed the same thing and LOVE the attention.

Being a housewife I normally go to the store in sweats with two kids and don't get taht many looks.  You will think the mini van would make me look hot  and when I ride on the back of my ol' mans bike, I think guys are affraid to look too much.

But when I ride my own, I get the looks and the comments like "Hey hot mama" and I kind of enjoy it.

• February 27, 2009 10:21 AM PST
    I used to not like it. I didn't mind people looking, guys and girls, when I rode by because I have a REALLY nice bike and I was hoping they were just admiring the whole package, bike and all. But when I got the whistles, winks, and cat calls when I was stopped, I just felt like flipping them off.

But now I am a little more ok with it. I think I am pretty good looking and if the bike makes guys think they can be more open with their expressions, I guess 'cause I'm kind of like one of the guys if I ride, than I'm ok with that.

Go Fast Girl !!!!!
    • 81 posts
    March 2, 2009 3:06 AM PST

I don't ride my own, but I do notice I get a lot more guys looking at me when I am on the back of the bike, than when I am in the car.  I kind of enjoy it.  I think my boyfriend likes showing me off too.