Electrical Problem

• November 12, 2009 3:09 AM PST
    The other day went for a ride came home every thing was fine . Later that day went to go out again , would not start , Was makeing a clicking sound .. Ok no problem . Dead battrie , right . Wrong . Changed the battrie . still the same thing . I have power to the lights and every thing but the started and the plugs . Checked the fuses all good there . The clicking sound is commong from the junction box for the fuses . Any chance it could be that . any way to check the bx ??

thank for any help .. John
    • 1 posts
    November 12, 2009 3:30 AM PST
    I am assuming you are talking about the Kawasaki Vulcan Classic 1999 listed in your profile.

I am no expert on Kawasaki, but I believe the sound you are hearing is the relay in the junction box, which most likely means it is working.

Sounds to me like you either have a bad starter solenoid or a bad starter.

To do a quick test... turn the key on and use a screwdriver to jump across the starter solenoid (the two big posts with the heavy-duty cables). If the bike starts the solenoid is bad, if it doesn't, its the starter.

Sorry, but I don't know the Kawasaki Vulcan that well, so I can't tell you where the starter solenoid is off the top of my head.
  • November 12, 2009 4:26 AM PST
    Jumped the starter working fine . it turned over but no fire to the plugs
  • November 12, 2009 4:27 AM PST
    well i guess its off to the shop
    • 5417 posts
    November 12, 2009 9:06 AM PST
    Squid,

Let us know what you find out. It may help someone else.
  • November 12, 2009 11:06 AM PST
    I'll do that . I really think its the fuse junction box but i'm just going to take it in . Going to let the pro's fix it .. Thanks ,,
  • November 12, 2009 1:03 PM PST