Do You Wear Protective Clothing on Your Motorcycle

• August 29, 2009 4:55 AM PDT
    I just started riding and was wondering how many wear, or recommend protective clothing when you ride.  In the class they told us to always ride with boots, long pants, gloves and a tough jacket, or at least a thick long sleeve shirt.

When my husband rides, in the nice weather, he normally wears a t-shirt or tank top.  He told me to wear what ever I feel comfortable with.

I am ok with everything except the jacket or thick shirt.  Do most of you keep your arms covered when you ride?
    • 126 posts
    August 29, 2009 5:52 AM PDT
    I did when I first started riding. It all depends on the weather and what I feel like. I always wear my full face helmet. I do ride the freeway to and from work in just a t-shirt though if it is worm. My doughters have to have all of there gear to ride with me. I can get hurt but I wnat them to be as safe as they can be.
    • 1364 posts
    August 29, 2009 10:53 AM PDT
    Boots, Gloves, glasses, and a helmet at all times..... Chaps, leather jacket as weather permits, as well as a face mask..............
  • August 29, 2009 11:12 PM PDT
    I wear the helmet (not by choice) of course,  my Harley sneakers or boots (depending on weather),tank top or jacket (weather dependent) & either capris or jeans.  I would never wear sandles or flipflops (gotta protect my toes from rocks & stuff).
    • 19007 posts
    August 30, 2009 1:37 AM PDT

I dress for weather and not for “Safety”. The exception is I always wear jeans and boots, (nylon GI combat boots for warm days and leather insulated combat boots for cold days.) BTW I have found them to be the best boots ever since Uncle Sam gave me my first pair.  Once I tried to move my bike from the driveway into the garage wearing only slippers and damn near dropped it when my foot came out of the slipper.

Here is how not to dress...

• 2 posts
    August 30, 2009 11:21 AM PDT