Helmets Pros and Cons

• March 6, 2010 1:20 AM PST
    I'm a firm believer in choice, I make mine, you make yours. When I started riding 20 some years ago I wore a helmet religiously, after I was almost turned into road salsa by a semi I didn't see or hear coming until the last second the helmet went on a shelf. I've been down twice since and been fortunate to keep my skull off the pavement. My wife was in an accident 3 1/2 years ago without a helmet, probably would have saved her jaw but everyone involved with saving her life agreed that a helmet would have killed her. That's the exception not the rule.
    A brain bucket is on my head if I'm off the road, and I will defend anyone's right to wear one without getting razzed for it. My daughters wear their helmets when they ride with me, always.

Pro-choice because riding is about freedom, whether its what road to turn down or whats on your head.
    • 1780 posts
    March 6, 2010 1:23 AM PST

Dragon
    • 467 posts
    March 6, 2010 2:10 AM PST
    I, too, am a firm believer in choice. That being said, my choice is to wear my protective gear because I like all my skin where it is and I love what brains I have that survived my teenage years. And those teenage years taught me that it is just as brutal getting denim picked out of your arse as gravel!
    • 1 posts
    March 6, 2010 3:24 AM PST
    cnciaco wrote...
    I, too, am a firm believer in choice. That being said, my choice is to wear my protective gear because I like all my skin where it is and I love what brains I have that survived my teenage years. And those teenage years taught me that it is just as brutal getting denim picked out of your arse as gravel!

I'm highly allergic to road rash.
    • 467 posts
    March 6, 2010 4:38 AM PST
    I am with you on that one! The ONLY allergy I have that I am willing to abide by!
  • March 6, 2010 4:54 AM PST