Rain gear which type do you have

• June 8, 2009 2:22 AM PDT
    I need to buy some motorcycle rain gear. Which type do you wear and which is the best?
    • 5417 posts
    June 8, 2009 3:14 AM PDT
    Grunt,

I personally like the two piece rain gear for motorcycle riding. I find the jacket comes in handy on those chilly wet mornings to keep out the damp air. Plus when you stop to eat, it is much easier to just take off the jacket and leave the pants on.

I got mine from Harley (only because I had a gift cert I needed to use). It does cost a little more than some of the generic brands, but it is really well made and works great.

Remember, I am from Southern California, so I'm far from an expert. I think I have only worn it outside of the state :-)
  • June 8, 2009 7:34 AM PDT
    We have a lot more experience with rain gear than Lucky does.  When you ride in NC you always have your gear with you.

I do agree with Lucky that the two piece rain suit is a little more convenient.  Like he said it is nice to get the jacket off without either taking the entire suit off, or letting the top hang down which is worse because it get all crunpled under you when you sit down.  Another thing that is very important with any motorcycle rain gear is to make sure it has some type of opening in the back (usually covered with a flap or cape).  If the rain jacket doesn't have an opening in the back it will beloon up when you ride...very uncomfortable and "dorky" looking.

One thing a lot of people forget about when riding a motorcycle in the rain is their boots.  Although most good leather boots will keep the water out for a while, once it does soak through it takes forever for them to dry.  You will be riding the rest of the day (and the next day) with wet feet.  so it you are expecting to be in hard rain on your bike for an extended time, I recommend something like these...

Hope that helps you a little with your decision.

Tammy
    • 1 posts
    June 8, 2009 10:15 AM PDT