Lane Splitting......... Yea or Nea?

• February 25, 2010 4:26 AM PST
    Nope and won't. There was a lady killed here a couple of years ago that decided to split lanes with 2 tractor/trailers in slow traffic, she was crushed between the 2.
  • February 25, 2010 4:48 AM PST
    Did it here in CA when commuting to & from work on the 5/22 interchange, it was gridlocked all the time, so there was no option but to sit & heat up. I was alot younger & dumber though. I don't do it now, mainly cause here on the central coast, we don't have the Orange county traffic(thank god) & I ride a harley now(triumph then) so its alot wider.
  • February 25, 2010 4:51 AM PST
    I grew up in splitting lanes in So. Cal. It's second nature to me. I've been riding for 25+ years and I've seen only 2 or 3 people go down as a result. Statistically you're safer splitting lanes than stopping in traffic and risking getting rear ended. None the less, you have to ride within your own comfort zone and lane splitting isn't for everyone (even if it is legal).
    • 352 posts
    February 25, 2010 5:24 AM PST
    I would not do it - I was there to see a friend take his final ride when someone did a lane shift on him - he was only about 200 ft from me when it happened and there was nothing anyone could do to save him.
  • February 25, 2010 7:44 AM PST
    TheBullDog wrote...
    I would not do it - I was there to see a friend take his final ride when someone did a lane shift on him - he was only about 200 ft from me when it happened and there was nothing anyone could do to save him.

Such a shame about your friend.  It can really change your perspective when you actually witness it.  I've seen several of my friends go down and it's never pretty.   We all assume a certin degree of risk whenever we ride and it's up to each person to decide where their comfort zone lies.

• February 25, 2010 9:33 AM PST