I have Ridden Many Bikes...

• 611 posts
    February 6, 2015 11:06 AM PST
     I have ridden several type/brands of motorcycles in my life. Started with a chopped Sears mini-bike. A Honda 90 Trail broke my collarbone on a badly done jump, then there was the Honda 305 Scrambler (loved that bike), a 650 Triumph I bought for a hunnerd bucks and a sheath knife. She was the first 'Bike in a Box' I built. No frame so I found one and made her a sweet, rigid chop. Right-foot shift, left-foot brake and a 12" over girder front end. Then the 750 Triumph chop another 'Bike in a Box', rigid frame with pull-backs and a 14" over Glide front end. 

I graduated to a Harley when I bought a 57/67 Pan/Shovel... Bliss! Aman Saviour Frame with 5 degree rake neck, 14" over (homemade) springer and as fast as I've ever gone on a motorcycle... 127 mph (radar, but that's another story). I have ridden friend's sportbikes and had a BLAST on them. Ridden several dirt bikes, 125-450 cc and have abso-freekin-lutely loved every minute.

What I will NEVER understand, is the need some riders have to put down, sneer at and laugh about other rider's bike. Baggers that appear to drag the road, sportbikes that look like a Transformer and little bitty putt-putts. They all are for riding, for the enjoyment of the rider... Perhaps it is only the need to feel 'superior' in some way... 

My point is this... Ride what you like and understand that not everyone thinks like you do. So, ride when you can and don't judge... We get plenty of that from folks that don't ride and don't understand.

Edgeman
    (The motorcycle is not mine and I do not know the bearded-one standing by it. Just liked the picture!)
    • 1 posts
    February 6, 2015 10:41 PM PST