Sturgis 2015..75th Anniversary

• September 3, 2014 12:42 PM PDT
     I've never been to Sturgis but plan on going next year in 2015. It's the 75th anniversary and I'm looking for tips. So far multiple people say camp or stay outside of town (deadwood). I'll be riding solo from NorCal or with 1-3 others. Planning on staying in Elko then Rock Springs each way... 2 days to get there two days home. I'm more interested in the ride and Rushmore, Crazy horse, etc. than down town.

Any lodging suggestions? One suggestion was to go the week before to avoid the crowds. I've been riding for 12 years but sounds like a ton of rookies show up and can be more dangerous than cagers...  Thanks in advance.
    • 79 posts
    September 3, 2014 3:39 PM PDT
    Book soon,called the campground we always stay at and all the cabins are booked already.
    • 1855 posts
    September 3, 2014 10:58 PM PDT
    My suggestion is check out the area around Hot Springs. It's a great area and you most likely won't run into a lot of idiots. It's close to the monuments and the places you'd love to ride. 10 miles or less from the Wyoming border and a great ride up to Devil's Tower.

Best Value Inn....reserve now.

Peace
    • 57 posts
    September 4, 2014 12:56 AM PDT
    Suggestion,if you are staying in Motels book soon and if you're really not interested in the downtown Sturgis scene stay further away,it'll cost a little less and if you are camping don't take cheap gear or you will pay the price when those summer t-storms come rolling through.check surrounding area's for cabins but they book faster than motel rooms so act fast,i have stayed in cabins at Custer State park and motels 70 miles away,Do it your way Not what someone else's idea of Sturgis is.
  • September 4, 2014 11:14 AM PDT
    Great tips everyone. I appreciate you taking the time.
    • 5417 posts
    September 4, 2014 11:48 AM PDT