NC Newbie

• 70 posts
    January 20, 2014 11:41 PM PST
    Hi Ya'll! I live in North Carolina and I have been riding my bike off and on now for several months. I got her in Sept of ' 12.  I have rode as a passenger on various bikes, but I recently got tired of just being one. I wanted to enjoy the experience of being one with the wild and not just see the back of my boyfriends head! lol

The only thing that hinders me at the moment is the weather (too cold or rainy) and I am still a little fearful.  I have laid my bike down due to slipping in massive dirt, leaves, or gravel.  I was anxious to ride in the beginning and got right on the road after learning for a day or two. I want to make sure that I go back now and learn counter steering, riding slowly, and hopefully build my confidence up

• 5417 posts
    January 21, 2014 1:22 AM PST
    Welcome Amy from over here in CA. Been down in NC quite a bit (my son used to live in Maggie Valley) and you certainly have some great riding down your way. Sounds like you are enjoying riding your own now, and glad to hear you take the side of caution while gaining riding experience.

Ride Safe and Enjoy!!!
  • January 21, 2014 1:23 AM PST
    Welcome from Faith, NC. Hang in there, you'll get past the fear, just don't lose the respect for the bike. pretty soon riding will become second nature. A lot of us (most) have dropped their bike at one time or another, so there ain't no shame in that. Congrats on getting your own bike, the confidence will come.
    • 70 posts
    January 21, 2014 1:59 AM PST
    Thanks yall! I really love it. I love riding as much as playing music!
  • January 21, 2014 4:01 AM PST
    welcome from oregon
    • 3006 posts
    January 21, 2014 4:50 AM PST
    Welcome to the best motorcycle board on the web.