sons honda cb900

• April 12, 2010 7:57 AM PDT
    my son has a cb900 1980 it started popping on 2cly both on same side looking for any imput as to what is caosing this ha also lost power help
    • 19046 posts
    April 12, 2010 8:12 AM PDT
    Popping?? Out the exhaust or carb? Does this bike have multiple carbs?

OK I looked at a photo of one. If the cylinders that are affected are on the same carb I would suspect that first. In my limited experience this is usually caused by something leaning out the mixture. Loose intake manifold, bad intake gaskets are common problems.

Be patient for there are many on this site who know much more than I and they will answer you.

Good Luck.

• 21 posts
    April 12, 2010 8:23 AM PDT
    I'm no mechanic but Rex might be on to something - I'd definately start there -
  • April 12, 2010 9:30 AM PDT
    its a 4cly with 4 carbs
    • 19046 posts
    April 12, 2010 9:36 AM PDT
    I still would look at mixture first. Find something common to the two with the problem and look there first. It could be a clogged or pinched fuel line, intake manifold leaking. Do they share an airbox. I once had a glove stuck in my air filter that caused a great loss of power and severe sputtering. (Don't ask how the glove got there lol)
  • April 12, 2010 11:04 AM PDT
    its popping out the exhust on the 2 left cly has 4 carbs with seperate air cleaners 4 each
    • 1066 posts
    April 12, 2010 12:00 PM PDT
    Did this start suddenly? Got two coils, If yes ck. the one for left side. Cam timing? I have not worked on a Honda in yrs., but it don't really sound like carbs, if it started all at once.
  • April 12, 2010 2:41 PM PDT
    Hollywood wrote...
    Did this start suddenly? Got two coils, If yes ck. the one for left side. Cam timing? I have not worked on a Honda in yrs., but it don't really sound like carbs, if it started all at once.

yes it has 2 coils but 1 is for 1&3 the other is for 2&4 and the popping is comming from the 2 left clys