Throttle Return Cable on Harley Dyna

• August 12, 2009 8:27 AM PDT
    I am getting ready to install mini ape hangers on my Harley-Davidson Dyna Super Glide.  I would really like to have a clean look with all electrical inside and as few cables as possible.  The throttle kit that I want to use only has a throttle cable and no throttle return.  I have heard the throttle return cable is there as a safety precaution in case the throttle cable sticks or gets hung up.

So I have two questions...

1) Is the throttle return cable really necessary?

2) If I leave it off do I need to make any additional modifications?
    • 5419 posts
    August 13, 2009 4:21 AM PDT
    I am not an expert on this, but I did ask serveral mechanics when helping a buddy put a set of naked apes on his bike. The answer I got was pretty much...

You don't actually need the throttle return cable, a.k.a. idle cable. The throttle return, or idle cable, has two purposes, both safety related: first, in the event your throttle cable sticks, gets hung up, or the return spring fails...it allows you to still throttle down by twisting the throttle forward; second, it keeps you from twisting the throttle too far forward and potentially unhooking the throttle cable.

I personally would leave it on if possible, but I usually operate on the side of caution myself. Years ago, on an old Honda 350, I had the throttle cable stick and ran right into the side wall of a store. I know if the throttle sticks you could just pull in the clutch and hit the kill switch, but you don't always think that fast in an emergency situation.

Again I am not an expert, so maybe one of the mechanics here can chime in on this.
  • August 13, 2009 9:32 AM PDT
    I believe that Exile cycle makes a new version that works internally....
    As in both cables are attached to the inside of the grip and fed into the bars when the grip is attached. It looks super clean (nothing but grip showing).